Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Our Government recognizes that the education and employment outcomes of First Nations and Métis peoples must improve so we all share in Saskatchewan’s growth and prosperity.  Our Ministry is investing in a strategy, and expanding programs and partnerships, to increase First Nations and Métis peoples participation and success in advanced education and the labour force.

The Degree Authorization Act expands degree-granting authority in the province beyond our two universities, by allowing other post-secondary institutions to apply for the authority to offer degree programs.  Established quality standards will determine an institution's capacity to offer degrees and will assess proposed new degree programs.

The Innovation and Science Fund (ISF) will provide funding to Saskatchewan universities, colleges and research institutes to support projects.

Every year, the Ministry provides the public post-secondary institutions with budget letters.

Saskatchewan has interprovincial agreements with post-secondary institutions in other provinces to reserve seats in specific health discipline programs for Saskatchewan students.

An agreement with the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) was signed on May 17, 2011, to establish a joint task force on aboriginal education and employment, intended to consult on and identify practical, grass-roots solutions for eliminating current gaps in education and employment outcomes for First Nations and Métis people in Saskatchewan. 

The joint task force will focus on several key goals, including:

  • Improved early childhood outcomes and transition to school;
  • Increased high school and post-secondary completion rates;
  • Improved participation in the labour force and employment; and
  • Greater quality of life and enhanced self-sufficiency.

Our ministry, in partnership with Saskatchewan post-secondary institutions, has contracted PRA (Prairie Research Associates) Inc. to undertake a survey of 2009-10 Saskatchewan post-secondary graduates.

The Regional Colleges Act requires a review of the regional college system at least once every five years.  The final report Saskatchewan's Regional Colleges: Towards a New System was received by Honourable Minister Rob Norris and published on April 7, 2011.  There are 20 recommendations contained in the report.

Three contracted firms provided work on behalf of our Ministry related to business operation and management of St. Peter's College (SPC) and Carlton Trail Regional College (CTRC). A summary of the work, weekly progress reports and updates on further actions  are provided herein for clarity and transparency.

Information on non-repayable funding through scholarships, bursaries and grants.

Our Ministry offers student financial assistance and support programs including student loans; scholarships; grants; bursaries; support for part time students; support for students with permanent disabilities; the Saskatchewan Scholarship of Honour (SOH), the Graduation Retention Program (GRP) and the Skills Training Benefit (STB).   

Procedures in the event of a Student/Participant Injury on a Work-based Learning Placement or Work Placement.

Home/About AE/Programs & Services
© 2016 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.